Material: Portland Stone
Location: Pro-Cathedral Dublin
Relating to the neo-classical architecture of the cathedral
this recess between two pilasters was the ideal setting for
the unique record of the Archbishops of Dublin since 1152.
The top element of this stone structure is the coat of arms
of the Diocese of Dublin, immediately underneath is the introductory
inscription, in itself a fine example of wordcraft, which
in length ties the two large tablets bearing in succession
the names of the Archbishops. In the design it was important
that on the right hand tablet the list of names stopped at
a point allowing further names to be inscribed.